I’m Sick

Standard

I’m sick of hearing that in order to “make it” you must put out X number of books a year.

I’m sick of hearing that you’re not a “real” writer unless you devote X number of hours a day to writing or write X number of words a day.

I’m sick of hearing that in order to gain fans you must be a social media wunderkind.

I’m sick of hearing that you must do X or you must do Y in order to achieve the same type of acclaim as famous writer Q.

In short, I’m sick and tired of people proclaiming that there’s only one path to success in this business. Every writer is different. We are not interchangeable cogs in a machine. And I will not be treated like one. I’m going to make it in publishing and I’m going to do it the way I want to do it. And I hope the rest of you follow your own path to your own success.

About Ana Ramsey

Ana Ramsey* is a crazy cat lady-cum-author. When she's not wrangling her three rebel cats or working in the garden, she can usually be found lurking on Twitter (@anaquana) or gallivanting around the world from the comfort of her chair. *Name changed to protect the guilty

3 responses »

Talk To Me

