I’m Aliiiiive!

Standard

*blows dust off everything*

*sneezes uncontrollably*

It’s been a long time since I’ve ventured back here and for that I apologize. I became a bit of a hermit over the summer and didn’t do much socializing anywhere either online or in real life. But, hopefully, that hermitage is over now. It’s been quite an interesting few months.

My office is finally, FINALLY! at 99.9% completion. We’re just waiting on the electrician to stop over to ground the wall sockets so I can plug my computer in without worrying. We’re also waiting for my curtains to be completed.  Being this close to being able to move in there and not able to do so is killing me.

Since we’re basically done with my office, we started clearing out the next room to be renovated. The original plan for this next room was that it would be my husband’s office/man-cave, but after we cleared all of the stuff out of the room we found this:

Wall Mural

Wall Mural

Right side of wall mural

Right side of wall mural

Left side of wall mural

Left side of wall mural

It was hand-painted right onto the plaster wall and then, at some later date, covered with wallpaper. The only reason we found it before we started tearing the wall down was me seeing the tiniest bit of the fence peeking through a rip in the wallpaper. There’s no signature, but we’re going to talk to the local historical commission to see if they might know who painted it. Since my husband isn’t too interesting in having this in his office/man-cave and neither of us wants to tear it down or cover it back up, we’ve decided to turn this room into the library.

On the writing front I’ve been busy busy busy. I started writing a paranormal romance, but both my writing partners and my agent weren’t terribly keen on my execution of it so I decided to scrap the romance part and just focus on the male protagonist since he was the more interesting character. Unfortunately, as soon as I got rid of the romance and the female love interest, everything sort of fell apart. So that story is on the back burner for now as I try and tease a new plot out of it.

But all was not lost because as soon as I set that aside a brand new story began vomiting itself out of my head. I’m more than 10k words in and I’m still loving it, the characters are still talking to me (they won’t STOP talking to me), and I have a general path to the end (which I usually NEVER have).

I also wrote a piece of flash fiction that my writing partners LOVE, but the market doesn’t since it is apparently a cliched trope. Ah well… I will get it put up here in the short story section at some point.

In little tidbit news: I dyed my hair purple again (it needs to be re-dyed because it’s now faded to pink), I’ve begun to take concrete steps to treat my depression with therapy, I turned 33 yesterday, and I need to get my butt back into an exercise routine because I’ve gained 20 pounds in the last three years.

So, that’s been my life for the last few months. How are all of you?

About Ana Ramsey

Ana Ramsey* is a crazy cat lady-cum-author. When she's not wrangling her three rebel cats or working in the garden, she can usually be found lurking on Twitter (@anaquana) or gallivanting around the world from the comfort of her chair. *Name changed to protect the guilty

3 responses »

Talk To Me

