Stuff that squeaks through

Standard

Last night as I was lying in bed attempting to fall asleep I suddenly realized that there was a minor plot hole in my first novel. The novel which I sent off to my agent several weeks ago after a long slog of revisions. This novel has been through the hands of nearly a dozen beta readers as well as my agent and not a single person picked up on this plot hole.

If I hadn’t had my midnight epiphany would it have been caught at all before publication? I don’t know. I’d like to think that somebody somewhere would have caught it, but it was such a minor inconsistency I don’t know that it wouldn’t have been overlooked in favor of other, more important issues. Until publication, of course. Then all the emails would come flooding in from readers who caught the plot hole.

Agents, editors, writers, and beta readers are all human and our brains have a nasty little habit of letting us see what we want to see and automatically filling in holes before our conscious minds see them. So, errors slip through and plot holes are allowed to stand and we all feel like complete idiots once they’re brought to our attention by an outside party.

About Ana Ramsey

Ana Ramsey* is a crazy cat lady-cum-author. When she's not wrangling her three rebel cats or working in the garden, she can usually be found lurking on Twitter (@anaquana) or gallivanting around the world from the comfort of her chair. *Name changed to protect the guilty

5 responses »

Talk To Me

