This and That, Dribs and Drabs

Standard

I haven’t been posting often because, quite frankly, my brain is mush.

We’re still looking for a new title for WDFTT. It’s really tough for me because everything I think of just doesn’t fit. I don’t want the title to be about the case Alex is working on simply because, while that’s the plot of the book, I feel the greater story is Alex and her struggles with her demon half.

Speaking of titles…

Hubby took me out shopping Friday night for my birthday. While I was browsing the book section of Target, I ran across THIS —

All I could do was stand there and mutter “Son of a bitch…”

 

Now, to be fair, one of the other agents who had offered me rep last year had mentioned that another book had just been sold with that title, but hearing about it and seeing it are two completely different things.

I, of course, had to buy the book. I will let everyone know how it is once I finish it.

Also bought that night was Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus. I’m halfway done with it and in complete love with the story and the characters. Erin breaks so many of what are considered “rules of good story telling”. She writes parts in second person and parts in present tense. She follows multiple characters through different time periods. But she makes it all work.

This year I’m going to be participating in NaNoWriMo again. I participated back in ’08 and ’09 (I actually got 50k words written in ’09!) but took last year off because I was trying to recharge my brain. I’m not starting anything new, I’m going to use it as inspiration to get When Demons Cry finished and probably do more work on Zombies!

Speaking of When Demons Cry, as you all can see by the metric on the right of the screen, I did not get to 50k words. However! With how much I’ve written on Zombies! and the work I did on the last set of revisions for Cameron, it comes very, very close to having gotten to 50k on WDC, so I’m pronouncing that a win. 🙂

 

4 responses »

  1. I saw that book in Wally-World the other day and thought of you, but honestly, WDFTT seems like the best title for your book. I hope you get a title soon.

    And yes, all that writing on Zombies! plus the revisions for Cameron are DEFINITELY a win! 🙂

  2. I am loving THE NIGHT CIRCUS, in part for all the reasons you mentioned but also because of the evocative vibe and the lush writing. Awesome book, totally worth of it’s buzz.

    Wow, seeing another book with your title sitting on the shelf had to be a weird moment. But I know you’ll come up with something better. 🙂

    • I finished it last night and oooh boy! It definitely deserves all the buzz it’s getting and more.

      It sounds silly, but I really did just stand there for about five minutes muttering “son of a bitch” over and over again. lol

Talk To Me

