Books I’m Reading

Standard

I’m just about a hundred pages into Where Demons Fear to Tread by Stephanie Chong and I have to admit that I’m underwhelmed. Maybe it’s because this book is more romance than paranormal, but I’m just not feeling it. There have been four different POV changes so far and two of them were completely unnecessary. I know the background and motivations of the two main characters already. I know the motivations of the people pulling the strings in the background. And I’m only a hundred pages in!! That’s less than a third of the way through the book.

Like I said, maybe those things bother me because I’m so used to the paranormal romances that are heavier on the paranormal aspect, but those things could have been drawn out for quite a bit longer. Especially in romances where the reader already knows that they’re going to get together no matter how much will they/won’t they goes on in the story, I like having some sort of mystery to the story.

Also, if that isn’t bad enough, the characters are just so unbelievable. A two-hundred-year-old ArchDemon who calls somebody a “spoilsport” simply because they won’t have a drink with him? C’mon!  A rock star who goes out on an all night coke and whores bender, yet shows up bright and early the next morning to do yoga without any signs of being hung over? I don’t think so.

 

The other book I’m reading is The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin. Holy wow! I’m on page 87 and I’m already blown away. There’s nothing BUT mystery at this point. And interesting, engaging characters. And a cute, creepy kid who’s also a God. *swoons*

 

Comments are closed.