NaNoWriMo

Standard

I’m thinking about giving up on NaNoWriMo for this year. The combined stress of everything that’s going on is really starting to wear me down and NaNo is the easiest bit of stress to get rid of. If I do quit, I’m still going to do my best to get to 50k words, but I’m not going to push myself too hard.

I remember how burnt out I was when I did NaNo back in 2009. I could barely think for two months afterwards. That’s the last thing I want to do to myself right now.

So, the plan is to be kind to myself, get done what I can and not worry about what I can’t.

5 responses »

  1. That’s precisely what I’ve done, Ana. My reasoning is due to my wrists, but it’s still the same. Anything I get will be enough.

    You have a lot going on. Totally understandable.

    Cheers,
    E.

  2. Pingback: NaNo Day 13. Nightmares. « Adventures of Aurel & Bex

  3. You wrote a novel, got and agent, did rewrites, dealt with the stress of those rewrites, are on pins and needles now that it is being sent out to publishers. If you haven’t thrown up at least three times by now from nerves, and wanted to throw the laptop across the room from the stress and burnout…

    Seriously, take a break. Refresh and worry about it next year or the next. I entered this year just as a booster to finish my novel and I’m not at your apex yet.

    Don’t worry about it, it is what it is.

  4. I’m finding I was burning myself out simply by trying to do too much writing at once. Trying to keep my “Postaday Challenge” pledge and participate in NaNoWriMo has taken it’s toll on me. I’m trying to do EXACTLY what you are – be gentle with myself. I feel that is the best medicine. Your inspiration, passion, and motivation will come to you and when it does – it will be a thing of pure beauty that one can simply marvel at. If I don’t finish for NaNoWriMo this year I think in a sense you and I will be, in a way, writing buddies because I have a feeling there will be more writing to be done even after the 50k mark is reached. I still haven’t actually gotten to the big plot of the whole story, we just hit the mini-plot that builds into the big one. Good luck and remember – be gentle, no burn out, burn out bad! Do what you require of yourself, relax, take a deep breath. All good things come to those who patiently wait for them. All things in their own divine time and place.

  5. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 22 – You Want Me to WHAT?! And WHERE?! « The Musings of Lady Gwendolynn

Talk To Me

