Happy New Year!

Standard

Happy New Year to you all! May the coming year be filled with light, love, and laughter for you.

I’m not making any resolutions for the new year because if I want to make a change in my life, I’m going to make it whether it’s a resolution or not. And I’m not necessarily going to keep to a resolution just because it’s a resolution.

Yesterday, our neighbors across the street hosted a Victorian First Day of 2012 Feast. I was not aware until yesterday that they’re Civil War era re-enactors with a passion for all things Victorian. I know who I’m talking to if I ever get the urge to write a steampunk novel! 😉 It was a very fun event that included enough food to feed a platoon of soldiers and some very cool people. I can honestly say that buying this house was the best decision we’ve ever made.

One of my husband’s gifts to me was a flat screen monitor, so now I’m not getting headaches and blurry eyes after being on the computer for too long. It took a while for me to get the brightness and contrast settings to a comfortable balance, but now that I have them set I’m loving it. Which means I can finally get caught up on the beta reading I need to do.

He also got me Skyrim which I’ve vowed not to begin playing until I’ve beaten Dragon Age Origins. Which means I need to write faster because playing Dragon Age is my reward for getting my writing quota done for the day.

We’re starting to clean up the house and put decorations away. The house is looking extremely bare and forlorn. I’m thinking that we need to paint and finally put up curtains at least in the living room. We’ve been putting it off because we need to tear down the old, crumbly plaster and put up new drywall, but that doesn’t look like it’s happening any time this year. We’re also getting our butts in gear and finishing up my office. I want to be completely moved in there before Spring.

Talk To Me

