No Poo For Me

Standard

No, not THAT kind of poo, but shampoo. As an occasional follower of the Crunchy Betty blog, I’ve been meaning to make my life more crunchy for some time. I’ve been trying to put healthier things INTO my body and now it’s time for me to start putting healthier things ON my body. If I’m going to attempt to be a healthy, balanced person that means I need to be healthy in all (or at least most) aspects of my life.

I’m also trying to reduce my ecological footprint and many of the chemicals we slather on our body are bad for the environment. If they’re bad for the environment, what makes us think they’re good for us?

After reading Betty’s post on going No Poo several months ago, I stuck it in the back of my brain as a “nice idea”. Well, it may be a nice idea, but ideas are meant to be implemented. The “breaking in” period sounds like a rough transition, but I’m hoping that because I only wash my hair once a week as it is, it won’t be as bad. That said, if my hair and scalp DO freak out it’s winter which means it’s hat weather. Also, I work from home. I don’t have to impress anybody with wonderful hair unless I want to.

Here’s a picture of me and my limp, split-end riddled hair right before my first No Poo cleaning. I’ll try to remember to post update pictures once a week for the next couple of weeks.

6 responses »

  1. It is true that the sulfates in shampoos dry out the hair and would be better served as laundry detergent. Being black with really thick coarse hair that is mid-back length shampoos are not an option for me, never have been. The recipes on her website are common place in my household. The women in my family have passed down their remedies for healthy hair to us younglins. My hair gets very dry and so does my scalp; coconut, jojoba, olive, amla, and other natural oils are my staple

    When it comes to castille soap I have to put aloe vera in my cleanser for the simple fact that it balances the PH in my hair. Other then that I do a cowash which is simply washing my hair with an all natural conditioner. This is nothing new to me, but you’d never know it, hence the Wen bandwagon… like it’s cutting edge. :p

    I hope you get really good results from your experiment. And if it gets too time consuming there are so many all natural products with the same ingredients that people don’t even know about you can buy online.

    Good luck to you.

    • *laughs* There were actually several black commenters who said pretty much the same thing. You gotta give us white chicks a break – we’re kind of slow on the uptake, but we’re getting better. Well… some of us are, anyway. ;)

      And it IS cutting edge… for us. :p

  2. Have you tried Ojon intensive treatment oil? If not, try it, the longer you leave it on the better, it’s like a drink of water for your hair, especially the ends. But leave off if you’re allergic to nuts.

  3. So. How many days has it been now? I’m ready for my update. I’ve never made it past day 4 without regular shampoo. My scalp starts to itch like crazy and then all of a sudden my hair can be sculpted like greasy strands of play-dough, and then my husband says “Honey. Shampoo already. Please.” And I cave.

    I’ll be following to see what happens… :)

Talk To Me

