Guest Blog by October Weeks ~~ Smile

Standard

Back in February, I wrote my short story, The Red Barn, in a day and a half. It took one day to edit. The day after that I sent it in to Musa Publishing; they sent me an offer of publication after just one week. I was thrilled, to put it mildly J  I’d been waiting for that moment since I was six years old! I had a smile on my face for week straight, not even the stress of my relationship with my alcoholic boyfriend could wipe it off my face.

See, I love smiling. There are days when I don’t want to, but I do it anyway because eventually, through the course of the day, I’ll feel a hellava lot better because of it. Because I see other people smile back and I know that sometimes, on really bad days, those smiles really matter. A bright spot peeking through the gray clouds.
Over the past few years there have been days when it was very hard for me to smile, and some days I really couldn’t even force it. Those were really dark days. It takes a tremendous amount of stress and anger to wipe the smile off my face.
In April of this year, I ended the 12 year relationship with my ex. After that, I made a vow to myself to smile every day, through pain and stress and anger- even if I have to force one onto my face during the course of the day. I also vowed to never let another person make me feel like I didn’t deserve to be happy, or that I didn’t deserve to be loved or treated like I mattered. Strange thing, good stuff started happening when I started caring for myself and making those changes.
Musa Publishing excepted another story- a novella this time, coming out in January 2013- and I’m buying a house, due to close the 30th of August, the day before my book releases! And I’ve made new friends, and met an awesome man, and I’ve realized just how happy I am with who I am. There’s room for improvement, of course, but that’s perfectly okay J
You know what’s going to make me smile today? Giving everyone reading this blog a chance to win a copy of The Red Barn– coming out this Friday- August 31st! I’m giving away one copy for each of the formats it’s being released in; .PDF, .PRC, .MOBI, and .ePUB.
Head on over to my blog- hauntedoctober.wordpress.com – to enter! Giveaway ends on August 31st.
Also, if you head over to my website- http://www.octoberweeks.net/ – you can read an excerpt, see the book trailer, get a bookmark or postcard for The Red Barn, and find out where to pre-order. So excited for everyone to read it!
About Ana Ramsey

Ana Ramsey* is a crazy cat lady-cum-author. When she's not wrangling her three rebel cats or working in the garden, she can usually be found lurking on Twitter (@anaquana) or gallivanting around the world from the comfort of her chair. *Name changed to protect the guilty

One response »

Talk To Me

