Guest Post ~ October Weeks Wants To Know Who Your Favorite Vampire Slayers Are

Standard

My friend and fellow writer, October Weeks, has a new book out today — HOORAY! I was one of the lucky people to read and critique the original version of The Damned, and while the book has changed quite a bit since then, her interesting characters and fun world have not. So, once you’ve told both October and me who your favorite vampire slayers are (mine are The Frog Brothers from Lost Boys and Faith Hunter’s Jane Yellowrock), click on the cover below to head on over to October’s site and order a copy of The Damned for yourself.  

Thanks for giving me your blog today, Ana!

thedamned1l

My new novel, The Damned, is out today! The story follows Tuck Houston—a slayer that is on the hunt for the Damned vampire who took two of her closest friends from her eight years ago.

As I was considering what to write for a guest post, I immediately thought about the slayers that I’ve read about or seen on television. So today, we’re going to talk about my favorite vampire slayers in books and on film J

In no particular order, my top ten vampire slayers are:

~Buffy (played by Sarah Michelle Gellar). Who doesn’t love Buffy? She’s smart, witty, strong, and is willing to sacrifice herself to save her loved ones and the world. Repeatedly.

~The Scooby Gang (aka Willow, Xander…etc). Because Buffy can’t always do it by herself, and her friends are just as amazing as she is.

~The Frog Brothers (The Lost Boys). How awesome are they! Classic movie, and great actor pairing J

~Abraham Van Helsing (Dracula, the novel). The very first slayer that I ever read.

~Jack Crow (John Carpenter’s Vampires). I love this movie, and the take on the vampire origin. But it’s Jack’s story, and James Woods’ onscreen presence, that really draw me to watch this movie over and over again.

~Selene (Underworld movies). Yes, she’s a vampire. But, she’s still badass, and manages to kill not one, but two, elders.

~Blade (movie version). Half vampire. I happen to love all three of these movies, but the first one is my favorite.

~Seth Gecko (From Dusk til Dawn, the movie). Love this movie, and George Clooney is wickedly awesome as Seth.

~The Monster Squad (movie). This is one of my favorite childhood movies, about a bunch of kids who battle Dracula and his monsters.

~ Ben Mears and Father Callahan (Salem’s Lot by Stephen King). I read the book every year, sometimes more than once.

So, who are your favorite vampire slayers (human and not human, of course) in books and on film?

2 responses »

Talk To Me

