Wednesday’s Words

Standard

This week’s Wednesday’s Words are brought to you from the seat of my brand new office chair. Yay! My old office chair was more than a decade old and it had definitely seen much better days. It was so worn out and saggy that I had to resort to covering it in pillows for cushioning. Despite the very contented cat asleep on it, my old chair wasn’t a very comfortable place for a human to sit. Especially not for long periods of time.

20150324_161621

So I ordered a new one last week and it arrived early Monday morning. It took a little bit of time to get used to – There’s no bottom pillow to shift and bunch up under my knees! Proper lumbar support! Thick padding on the arms to rest my elbows on! – but I am definitely in LURVE with it.

20150325_131956

Today’s words are a snippet from Child of Mischief. I’m still waiting for my CP’s to finish their final read-through of it before I send it out into the scary world of querying and I’m hoping this will shame them into reading faster. *glares at Katy and Lisa* Okay, not really. They both have other stuff going on in their lives that takes precedence over reading my stuff and, as Lisa told me yesterday, I am far too understanding and forgiving.

So, without further ado:

Loki and I stepped closer to the iron gate, but Móðguðr called us back.

“Dearest cousin, wait.” She was frantically searching the folds of her clothing. “You’ve forgotten something.”

“Oh, yes, of course. Thank you for reminding me, my dear.” Loki went back to her as she pulled something out of a pocket. I couldn’t see what it was, but it struggled in her grasp as she handed it to Loki.

“I was good and didn’t eat it, just like you said, even if it does smell delicious.”

Loki patted the bottom of her foot affectionately.

“Thank you again, Móðguðr. I will try to visit you again as soon as I may.”

He returned to my side, the wriggling creature still in his hands. It was a chicken. A red chicken with black speckles. It glared at me with beady black eyes.

I’d never seen a chicken up close before and never realized they were so large. This one was about the size of my mom’s twenty-pound dog, Dorothy. Its beak was black as were its claws. It looked like it could do some serious damage if it got loose. Thankfully, Loki had a tight hold on the blasted thing.

“Uh… what do we need a chicken for?” I glared back at the little shit. I wasn’t going to let something I regularly ate for dinner intimidate me.

“It’s a cock and there are two others in different places that will crow to announce the start of Ragnarök. I need to take this one to Hel.” He didn’t sound quite so pleased at the prospect.

“Okay, so let’s take this cock and pony show on the road.”

Móðguðr roared with laughter as Loki stared at me in affronted shock. Mustering up all my remaining courage, I winked at him before walking through the gates of Hel.

Talk To Me

