Just Another Day of Being a Writer

Standard

The rejections are starting to trickle in and, honestly, it’s not as bad a feeling as it was when I was querying Where Demons Fear to Tread. Oh, sure, there’s still the low-level dread of “What if nobody likes it? What if I missed the boat like I did with Demons? What if I’m just not good enough?”, but those are all normal fears that plague every writer. Or at least every writer I’ve ever heard/read speak on the subject.

Last time I was querying agents I used a site called QueryTracker, which was immensely helpful for keeping track of where I was in the process with each agent. Unfortunately, you have to be a paying subscriber in order to track queries for more than one project and I really wasn’t up for creating another account just for CoM, so I simply started an Excel spreadsheet in order to track agents. I still use QueryTracker in order to find agents and read the comments from other users who’ve queried those agents (I also check out the Absolute Write Bewares, Recommendations, and Background Checks forum for in-depth discussions about agents.). So far, my spreadsheet is much more helpful and concise than QueryTracker was even if it is a bit more work to set up.

Right now I’m struggling to write this synopsis. Nothing says Hell (Hel?) quite like trying to condense a 315 page book down to two pages and make it not only understandable, but interesting as well. I think I’ve pretty much got it nailed down, but who knows… We’ll see what my writing partners have to say about it.

Talk To Me

